Match Capital

Also Known As: Match Funding, Cost Sharing, Matching Funds

Match Capital Banner Image

The portion of the project or program costs that is not covered by the grant funds of the awarding state or federal program/agency.  For federal awards, matching funds may be in the form of either cash or in-kind contributions consistent with the Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards at 2 C.F.R. Part 200.  Most broadband grant programs require between 10% to 50% matching funds. Common private match capital sources include equity, debt, and forward-receivables purchases.


For more information about match capital including capital providers, see the Match Capital channel.



Under BEAD, sub-grantees are required to provide a contribution of at least 25% derived from non-Federal funds (or funds from a Federal regional commission or authority), except in high-cost areas. Waivers for this match requirement may be granted at the discretion of NTIA.


Eligible Sources of Match under BEAD

While most applicants will provide match capital from their own balance sheet, or through a combination of equity and / or debt investors, match may also be provided by the State, a unit of local government, a utility company, a cooperative, a nonprofit organization, a for-profit company, regional planning or governmental organization, a Federal regional commission or authority, or an combination thereof.  Match may include in-kind contributions and may include funds that were provided to an Eligible Entity or sub-grantee under:


  • Families First Coronavirus Response Act
  • The CARES Act
  • Consolidated Appropriations Act 2021
  • The American Rescue Plan Act of 2021
  • Appalachian Regional Commission
  • Delta Regional Authority
  • Denali Commission
  • Northern Border Regional Commission
Get help to win broadband grants

Need help winning broadband grants?
See what we can do for you.

Related Broadband Grant Terms

Broadband Grant Terms